1520 Queen St. East, Sault Ste. Marie, ON
P6A 2G4
(705) 949-2301 x 4510
(705) 946-7352
1300
1965
Asima Vezina
Mark Kontulainen
Red, White & Grey
Thunderbirds

Name Title Phone Email
Asima Vezina President & Vice-Chancellor (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4117 asima.vezina@algomau.ca
Dave Trudelle Director of Student Experience (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4729 dave.trudelle@algomau.ca
Mark Kontulainen Athletics & Recreation Director, Sports Information (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4510 mark.kontulainen@algomau.ca
Rachel Johnson Varstiy Sport Coordinator (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4512 rachel.johnson@algomau.ca
A.J. Pirillo Coordinator of Operations (705) 949-2301 Ext.4514 aj.pirillo@algomau.ca



Name Sport Phone Email
Thomas Cory Basketball (M) (705) 949-2301 ext. 4516 thomas.cory@algomau.ca
Ryan Vetrie Basketball (W) (705) 949-2301 ext. 4518 ryan.vetrie@algomau.ca
Cameron Wilson Cross Country cameron.wilson@algomau.ca
Juha Kantovaara Curling (M) jkantovaara@olg.ca
Josh Porco Curling (W) josh.porco@algomau.ca
Dave Lomas Nordic Skiing David.Lomas@algomau.ca
Neil Ovey Soccer (M) neil.ovey@algomau.ca
Neil Ovey Soccer (W) neil.ovey@algomau.ca
Trevor Manchester Wrestling (705) 949-2301 ext. 4524 trevor.manchester@algomau.ca



News Items

Algoma

  • Thunderbird Basketball Teams Swept by 'Stangs
    January 14, 2019
    Karly Fracalanza & Karina Cole Algom aThunderbird Basketball

    This past weekend both the Thunderbird Women's and Men's Basketball teams dropped their pair of games on the road against the Western Mustangs. On Friday night the women's game had both teams competing neck and neck after the first quarter with the game tied at 16. However the Mustangs had the edge in the second quarter and led by six at the half with the score 34 to 28. Mustangs still had the edge in the third quarter extending their lead to nine points with the score 52 to 43. In the fourth quarter the Thunderbirds picked up their play and out worked Western. They almost tied the game late with a Karly Fracalanza three point shot by the shot didn't drop and the Thunderbirds lost 70 to 67. Top scorers for Algoma were Karly Fracalanza with 18 points, Dionne Martin with 14 and Karina Cole with 10.
  • McMillan Joins Algoma Men's Soccer
    January 11, 2019
    Aidan McMillan Joins Men's Thunderbird Soccer

    Algoma University Varsity Athletics is pleased to announce that Aidan McMillan has signed with the Men's Thunderbird Soccer program for the 2019/ 20 season. Aidan is a midfielder from Whitby, Ontario who currently plays for Ajax FC.
  • Brody Collison & Bryce Davis Interview with GameONN
    January 11, 2019
    Brody Collison & Bryce Davis Algoma Thunderbird Wrestling

    Recently Brody Collison and Bryce Davis who are members of the Algoma Thundeerbird Men's Wrestling program were interviewed by Alex Parr on GameONN (SaultOnline ONNtv) regarding their national rankings and the upcoming OUA and U Sports Championships. Currently Brody is ranked 5th in the country in the 57 kg category and Bryce is ranked 2nd in the 72 kg category. You can see their interview at the following link starting at the 9:45 minute:
  • Brayden Bound for Thunderbird Soccer
    January 11, 2019
    Brayden Bound for Thunderbird Soccer

    Algoma University Varsity Athletics is pleased to announce that Brayden Cullen has signed with the Men's Thunderbird Soccer program for the 2019/ 20 season. Brayden is a defender from Oshawa, Ontario who currently plays for Darlingtion SC.
  • Nathan Riley Named OUA Athlete of the Week
    January 08, 2019
    Nathan Riley Namesd OUA Athlete of the Week (Week 16)

    Male Athlete of the Week ? Nathan Riley (Kitchener, Ont.) ? 4th Year ? Algoma Thunderbirds